Böse 2016-01-12

loweel-2016-012016-01-12 08:18 Ok, let’s give a try again with Ostatus. Gonna create a gihub for this. The idea is to create a personal gnustatus-aware pod, which a person can run just typing a command, or (in windows) clicking the icon. (and opening the browser, of course). This will be mono-user, self-hosted and able to interact with gnusocial.
New note by loweel



2016-01-12 08:09 Also, " in what we believe is a simple and obvious way." should not appear in a documentation. 🙂 I could tell you B.L.A.S.T. algorithms are simple and obvious (until you know about genomics) but I suspect you won’t be happy of that. I suggest to add some "examples" section there. 🙂 🙂
New note by loweel


2016-01-12 07:55 @mmn I confirm I read your pdf. But it describes a generic grammar. Which should be the same for Diaspora and all the others. But, they can’t federate. So , this tells me gnusocial is using this protocol in its peculiar way, which could be the right way or not, at least different than diaspora or others. So to know the grammar (as in your document) is fine for me, now I ask: how exactly gnusocial is using it? If I want to write something which stays in the "gnusocial"-verse, and not in the diaspora-verse, which theoretically should be able to interoperate at 100% , I need to get , exactly, how gnusocial is doing it. Maybe something like "how to write gnusocial-enabled software?" I mean, where is the gnusocial-specific part? It must exist , because gnusocial and diaspora and friendica are having trouble to interface, so they do things in their own way for sure.
New note by loweel


2016-01-12 07:46 The fact I am able to contribute or correct makes it OPEN. Making it "free", as in "freedom", means you have "knowledge+control". But I don’t want to fight. I am just looking for something like "how to write a ostatus-enabled software". I have the web skeleton of an application already, so I need the filesystem abstraction part which is OS independent (which I found already here: https://github.com/spf13/afero so I only need to code) and the Ostatus part.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 23:36 Ok, let’s do an example. I implemented a NNTP server in go, by exercise, starting from the RFC: https://boseburo.ddns.net/fnord/url/3348 . Look at there: for each command for the client, there is the syntax of the command – explicitely – and the possible answers. If you prefer, we can refer to the definition of HTTP: https://boseburo.ddns.net/fnord/url/3349 . You take a compiler, you read this document, and you have enough to write this protocol, in ANY language. This is "tecnical documentation": self-contained, clear, not ambiguos, with examples. The code cannot be documentation: you use documentation to check if you are fitting a standard, against bugs. I you use code as documentation, the bugs in the code will become the definition of the protocol. If they used the code of the first web server as documentation, http would have been quite different today. because the bugs in the code would have been part of the protocol itself. So no, sorry, code is not documentation, until you don’t want bugs as part of the standard.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 23:22 Ok, recap again: gnusocial makes me frustrated because I can’t really read the code and understand it. Maybe my fault or not. Dunno. So I would like to produce something similar, but in golang. The idea is: like almost everything in golang, you compile it and it just starts the executable. Now: to produce the web part and the data structure on disk (no Db dependencies) is feasible in short time. When it comes to ostatus, i can’t really master it, because I find nothing like "understanding ostatus" or "writing ostatus enabled software". So I want to give something to the community. The problem is I find an ostacle which makes me feel very frustrated, and non-free. Because then , I am using somehing I understand as much as microsoft exchange, which is closed. BTW, I do think the gnusocial community could take advantage of having more than one software to be used to federate.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 23:18 It is a strange feeling. I mean , I come from a country where there is a xenophobia problem, but not a racist problem. This means you are stranger or not, but nobody gives a shit of the color of the skin. So USA is the opposite: not very xenophobe, but racist. So to listen at discussions in term of skin color sounds very strange to me. Of course I am not happy my country is into xenophobia more than in racism, but I am not used to discuss in terms of races. I am familiar to dismantle xenophobia , racism is a non-argument for me.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 23:12 Please, stop with the default answer. This is documentation. How can I document something I don’t understand first, because documentation is jeopardized? I found 3 links which looked what I was looking for, like "how to write ostatus-enabled applications". All of 3 ended in a 404. This is what I need, at the end: how to write a ostatus-enabled application. Since there are no libraries for golang (which is not strange, since ostatus refers to a jeopardy of other protocols) I said "ok, I can write one": I bloody want to DO something positive, in the languages I know. The point is that , the knowledge is jeopardized. You find a document like the one @mmn mentioned, which is a starting point, and then sends you in another starting point, like a fractal. Now, when i wrote Tribes i simply invented a P2P protocol (which is the eays way because you invent it), but I can’t invent something which is supposed to be federated. And having the answer like "why you don’t instead of complaining", when you are bloody TRYING to contribute, is very exausting. Recap: to write the web part of a ostatus social network in golang+bootstrap is not that hard. You (and I) can do it in hours. My problem is how to interface it with gnusocial: and this is something which makes me crazy. But please don’t say I don’t want to do something positive: the frustration comes when I want, and I can’t.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 22:52 I am looking at something, but everything is undocumented, obfuscated, the know-how is jeopardized. I don’t have time to sniff my instance to see how it works in the network and doing reverse engineering. I noticed today by accident: something was broken, so I can’t post. Then I tried to find the error. And then I realized it was a black box, like any Microsoft product. I have the same chance to learn gnusocial and microsoft exchange, with the difference that If I pay, I can buy know-how from microsoft. Against gnusocial, I was completely powerless. If this is "free as in freedom", I don’t feel free. It was nice to learn how to cluster raspberry Pi2, but the lack of documentation and the jeopardization of know-how makes impossible to be in control. It is very sad, because tons of people are trusting this, but I am very frustrated of feeling powerless by a software I self-host. I don’t feel free.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 22:04 I am going to shut down this instance of gnusocial. Since I can’t find documentation for the protocol "ostatus", for me is proprietary, closed software. Sorry for that. I just need to think/find something else to put in its place. Undocuimented standard is closed standard. Undocumented software is closed software. Just a fake free software, where it pretends to be free, where is closed because of obfuscation.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 21:59 So, I am trying to find some documentation about ostatus protocol, to write a client in !golang . Result: the page at w3C is 404, the wiki mentioned in wikipedia says almost nothing. For me, ostatus is a dead protocol. End of story. I am sick and tired of pseudoprogrammes which believes documentation is code: if you think documentation is code, you should do farming.
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 21:22 I did a git pull on !gnusocial , and the result was that it was inpossible to do new posts. So I needed to "git reset –hard ORIG_HEAD". Please fix it!
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 21:20 Who knows why gnusocial answers like that? https://boseburo.ddns.net/fnord/attachment/3339
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 21:08 What is a "moderate white"? Is like a grey?
New note by loweel


2016-01-11 20:08 RT @cryptopartybln unforgotten Aaron Swartz. He died 11. January 2013 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aaron_Swartz
loweel repeated a notice by cryptopartybln


2016-01-11 20:56 loweel favorited something by cryptopartybln: unforgotten Aaron Swartz. He died 11. January 2013 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aaron_Swartz
Favorite


2016-01-11 20:56 loweel favorited something by fsf: We miss you, @aaronsw. Thank you for everything you did to build free software and a free society. https://u.fsf.org/1m1
Favorite


2016-01-11 20:29 RT @fsf We miss you, @aaronsw. Thank you for everything you did to build free software and a free society. https://u.fsf.org/1m1
loweel repeated a notice by fsf


2016-01-11 18:47 loweel favorited something by osbn: Linkdump 01/2016 … – http://www.deimeke.net/dirk/blog/index.php?/archives/3652-Linkdump-012016-….html
Favorite


  • PS: questo pezzo e le altre magnifiche elargizioni di saggezza di Uriel Fanelli LowEel sono analizzate su un altro blog degli Untermenschen che curano questo specchio.
  • PPS: pezzo automagicamente caricato da Fornello! Se sembra frammentario è il bello dei microblog, bellezza! E mancano le foto sì; d’altronde non è che potete pretendere granchè da uno scriptino buttato giù in fretta e furia…

Rispondi

